BEFORE I DIE | CANDY CHANG

Before I Die | Candy Chang

Candy Chang is a public installation artist, designer and urban planner. Before I Die was based on the artist’s motivation to transform neglected  sites and transforming it into constructive spaces for the local community.

A giant chalk board with the words “Before I Die I want to                             ” stenciled repeatedly in grid formation has been temporarily attached to an abandoned house in the neighbourhood, inviting local residents and passers by to fill out their personal expressions with chalk.

The artwork was inspired by the artist’s reflection on the question, “What is really important to me?”. Community members showed an overwhelming response to this opportunity to interact with their surroundings and share hopes and aspirations with other people who are connected to their space.

ARTIST Candy Chang
ARTWORK
 Before I Die
LOCATION
 New Orleans
CONSTRUCTION ASSISTANCE 
Kristina Kassem, Aan Williams, Cory Klemmer, Anamaria Vizcanino, James Reeves,Alex Vialou and Gary Hustwit
YEAR 
2011

